Comptroller’s Office

The Comptroller’s Office supports the University’s mission by providing effective accounting systems and processes to monitor and assess the financial position and internal controls of the University and its related affiliates. This Office provides support to campus through accurate and timely financial information, facilitates policy formulation to enhance financial integrity, and develops strategies for implementing the University’s initiatives ensuring quality and cost effectiveness.

Organization Chart (PDF)

The Comptroller’s Office has primary responsibility for:

  • The development of financial accounting and related policies to control and safeguard University assets.
  • The billing and collection of student accounts.
  • The preparation of the University’s annual audited financial statements.
  • The preparation of the University’s annual 990 and 990-T tax returns.
  • Ensuring compliance with federal, state and local tax regulations.
  • The financial oversight and administration of the University’s sponsored awards.
  • Processing salary and compensation to employees.
  • Processing payments to external vendors, students, and employees.
  • Providing sound leadership, direction and oversight for the acquisition, leasing, management and disposition of University real property both domestic and worldwide.

The Office of the Comptroller consists of the following departments:

  • Comptroller’s Office – Jean Gallipeau
  • Disbursements Processing – Brian Pendergast
  • Financial Reporting and Analysis – Michael Paparo
  • Financial Systems Management – Carolyn Hoare
  • General Accounting – Michael Paparo
  • Payroll Service Center – Brian Pendergast
  • Purchasing – Vincent Patriarco
  • Sponsored Accounting – Michael Paparo
  • Tax Reporting and Analysis – Lisa Cotanch

640 Skytop Rd., Mobile Unit #1
Syracuse, NY 13244
Phone: (315) 443-3765
Fax: (315) 443-1519

Official Office Hours:

Monday – Friday: 8:30 to 5:00
Summer Hours: 8:00 to 4:30


Jean B. Gallipeau Comptroller 315-443-3765
Amanda Cretaro Senior Administrator 315-443-3765
Michael A. Paparo Associate Comptroller 315-443-3044
Brian Pendergast Associate Comptroller 315-443-1426
Carolyn Hoare Director Financial Systems Management 315-443-2912
Lisa Cotanch Director Tax Reporting & Analysis 315-443-8333